Daily Archives: October 4, 2010

3 Questions For … Mel Douglas

Mel Douglas at work in her studio.

GLASS Quarterly Hot Sheet: What are you working on?
Mel Douglas: My latest body of work was inspired by a recent residency at Northlands Creative Glass in the north of Scotland. It was my first trip to the Highlands and I was really taken aback by the landscape. In the image, I’m working on a series of panels inspired by the dry stone bridges and Cairns found in Caithness. I was completely blown away by the craftsmanship and beauty of these ancient structures, the meticulous and unforgiving way each stone was held into place by the next, and the way the harsh environment aged these structures. I was also intrigued by the way these constructions were positioned in the landscape, with the rolling hills and vast open spaces framing these historic beauties. Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under Artist Interviews, Exhibition, New Work